Creating A Writer’s Notebook

Having a writer’s notebook is probably one of the best things you can do. It can be on your computer on a file, or, my personal favorite, in an actual notebook. While I personally tend to write on my computer, I love to write things down in my notebook to have for reference and to look back on to see how things have changed.

It’s a very useful tool! You can use it for poems, outlines, short stories, jokes, anything you want. The best part about a writers notebook is it doesn’t have to pertain to what you are writing at this particular moment. I personally use it to look back on when I’m having a dry moment to get inspiration.

It doesn’t have to be all glittery and colorful to be amazing! You can go the route of crayons and art if that’s your thing. Or just pen/pencil if you want something simplistic. Make it match you. It can be a big craft or just a place for you to keep your thoughts, ideas, and things to inspire you. It can be leather bound, spiral (my personal favorite), in a folder, on your computer, whatever is most practical and appealing to you.

If you want to go the artistic route, you can save a few pages at the beginning to make an index and number the pages. That way, especially if you have a large book, it’s easy to find everything you’ve written. I’ve been tempted to do that, but there is no room in my personal notebook to add that.

If you use a computer, I would suggest that you make very specific, clear names or dates for your documents and label the folder clearly. That way, if you go back down memory lane or you’re looking for something, you understand exactly what is in the document!

Don’t skip out on a writers notebook. It is certainly a useful, useful, useful tool!

With love, Ms. Beka Mae.

Leave a comment